Skip to content
BestGenerator.net

Best solar generator: how to match a power station and panels, plus picks

Updated 2026-10-08 · BestGenerator team

Battery power station on a kitchen table beside a lamp during a power outage at night

We may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Short answer: A "solar generator" is a battery power station plus portable solar panels. Size the battery for a day of use, then add enough panel watts to refill it in one sunny day: roughly battery Wh ÷ 3 for about 4 good sun hours. For camping, a 1 kWh station with 200 to 400 W of panels works well (BLUETTI Elite 100 V2, Jackery Explorer 1000 v2, Anker SOLIX C1000). For keeping a fridge going in an outage, look at 2 kWh and up, like the EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max Plus, with 400 to 800 W of panels.

"Solar generator" is a marketing name, but a useful one. It means a portable power station (a battery with outlets and an inverter) paired with portable solar panels that recharge it. There's no engine, no fuel and no exhaust. EnergySage describes it the same way: panels capture sunlight, a charge controller in the station stores it in the battery, and the inverter turns it into household power.

The trick is matching the two halves. A big battery with a small panel takes days to refill. A big panel on a station with a low solar limit wastes most of its watts. This guide shows how to size both, then gives picks. All figures are from makers' spec pages linked at the end. We don't test units ourselves.

Quick picks

  • Best solar charging for its size: BLUETTI Elite 100 V2. 1,024 Wh with up to 1,000 W of solar input, the highest in the 1 kWh class here. BLUETTI says it fills in 70 minutes on solar at full input. Pair it with BLUETTI panels such as the PV200.
  • Easiest kit to buy: Jackery Explorer 1000 v2. Jackery sells it with a SolarSaga 200W panel as the "Solar Generator 1000 v2". 400 W max solar input, so up to two SolarSaga 200W panels.
  • For a group, with a middle solar limit: Anker SOLIX C1000. 1,056 Wh, six AC outlets, 600 W of solar input. Anker lists a full charge in 1.8 hours on solar at full input. Pairs with the SOLIX PS200 panel.
  • For outages: keep a fridge going: EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max Plus. 2,048 Wh, 3,000 W and 1,000 W of solar input. EcoFlow says one 400 W panel fills it in about 6.4 hours.
  • Smallest and lightest: EcoFlow RIVER 2 Max 500. 499 Wh and 220 W of solar input, an exact match for EcoFlow's 220W bifacial panel.

Side by side

Station Battery AC output (surge) Max solar input Good sun hours to refill*
EcoFlow RIVER 2 Max 500 499 Wh 500 W (1,000 W) 220 W about 3 with 220 W of panels
BLUETTI Elite 100 V2 1,024 Wh 1,800 W (2,700 W) 1,000 W about 3.4 with 400 W
Anker SOLIX C1000 1,056 Wh 1,800 W (2,400 W) 600 W about 3.5 with 400 W
Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 1,070 Wh 1,500 W (3,000 W) 400 W about 3.6 with 400 W
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max Plus 2,048 Wh 3,000 W (6,000 W) 1,000 W about 3.4 with 800 W

*Our estimate: battery Wh ÷ (panel watts × 0.75). Panels rarely give their full label watts. EcoFlow's own figure for the DELTA 3 Max Plus works out to about 80% of a 400 W panel's label in good conditions, so 75% is a fair planning number. Cloud, shade, heat and a flat panel cut it further.

Step 1: size the battery for a day

Add up what you'll run for 24 hours: watts × hours = Wh, then add about 15% for anything on the AC outlets.

  • Camping, phones, lights, a laptop: about 150 Wh a day. A 500 Wh station is plenty. See the best power station for camping.
  • Camping with a 12 V fridge: about 450 Wh a day. Go for about 1,000 Wh.
  • Outage, a full-size fridge: a modern fridge uses about 1.0 to 1.6 kWh a day (see running a fridge on a power station). Add lights, Wi-Fi and phones and it's about 2 kWh. Go for 2,000 Wh or more.

The power station runtime calculator does this math for your own loads.

Step 2: size the panels to refill it

Panel watts ≈ daily Wh ÷ (0.75 × good sun hours)

Say you get about 4 good sun hours. Then:

Daily use Panel watts needed (4 sun hours)
150 Wh about 50 W
450 Wh about 150 W, so a 200 W panel
1,000 Wh about 330 W, so 400 W of panels
2,000 Wh about 670 W, so 800 W of panels

That gives a simple rule: panel watts ≈ battery Wh ÷ 3 refills the battery in a good sunny day. Fewer sun hours, a cloudy day or winter means more panels or more days.

Step 3: check the station's solar limits

Two numbers on the station's spec page decide what panels work:

  1. Max solar input (watts). Panels above this charge no faster. The RIVER 2 Max 500 takes 220 W, so a second panel would be wasted. The Elite 100 V2 and DELTA 3 Max Plus take up to 1,000 W, so you can grow into more panels later.
  2. Solar input voltage range. Panels differ a lot here. Jackery lists its SolarSaga 200W at 18 V, while Anker lists its SOLIX PS200 at 48 V operating. Wiring panels in series adds their voltage, and going over the station's limit can damage it. Buying the same brand's panels is the simplest way to stay inside the limits. If you mix brands, check the voltage, the connector, and the maker's wiring guidance. See solar panel not charging for series vs parallel.

Can a solar generator power a house?

Not a whole house. A 1 to 2 kWh station runs a fridge, lights, Wi-Fi and a CPAP for a day or so, and solar can refill it if the sun is out. It can't run central air, an electric water heater or a well pump for long, and most portable stations have no 240 V outlet.

Bigger systems blur the line. The EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3 lists 4,096 Wh, a 120/240 V outlet and up to 2,600 W of solar input. Systems like it can be connected to a home circuit by an electrician. Even so, a long cloudy outage will drain them. Many homes keep a generator as the backstop. See power station vs generator and power stations for home backup.

Solar generator vs gas generator

Solar generator Gas generator
Noise Near silent Loud; quieter if inverter type
Fumes None; can run indoors Carbon monoxide; outdoors only, far from the house
Fuel Sun, wall or car Gas or propane you store and rotate
Energy per day Limited by battery and sun As much as your fuel supply
Big loads (central air, well pump) Only the largest units Yes, with 240 V models

For camping, and for short outages with small loads, a solar generator is easier and safer. For long outages and big loads, a generator still does more. See our home backup generator picks.

Tips for better solar charging

  • Aim the panel at the sun and re-aim it every couple of hours. A flat panel loses a lot.
  • Avoid any shade. Even a shadow across part of a panel can cut its output sharply.
  • Keep the station cool and in the shade. Only the panel needs sun. A hot station may slow or stop charging.
  • Use the power while the sun's up. Run the fridge or charge devices at midday so the battery is full for the night.

Which should you buy?

  • Weekend camping, light loads: EcoFlow RIVER 2 Max 500 with one 220 W panel.
  • Camping with a fridge or CPAP, and you want the fastest solar refill: BLUETTI Elite 100 V2 with 400 W or more of panels.
  • You want one box with panel included: Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 as the Solar Generator 1000 v2 kit.
  • Shared use, lots of outlets: Anker SOLIX C1000 with two PS200 panels.
  • Outage backup for a fridge and essentials: EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max Plus with 400 to 800 W of panels.

Check the Elite 100 V2 on Amazon · Check the Explorer 1000 v2 on Amazon · Check the SOLIX C1000 on Amazon · Check the DELTA 3 Max Plus on Amazon

FAQ

What is a solar generator?

A portable power station (battery, inverter and outlets) charged by portable solar panels. It's sold as a kit or put together yourself. It makes no fumes and no engine noise.

What size solar panel do I need for a 1,000 Wh power station?

About 300 to 400 W of panels refills it in a sunny day (about 4 good sun hours). With one 200 W panel, plan on about 7 good sun hours, often two days. Check the station's max solar input first.

Can a solar generator run a refrigerator?

Yes, a 1,000 Wh or bigger station can run a modern fridge for roughly 12 to 20 hours. To keep it going day after day, you need about 2 kWh of battery and enough panels to refill it, which is 600 to 800 W in good sun.

Can I use any solar panel with any power station?

No. The panel's voltage and current must fit the station's solar input range, and the connector must match or have an adapter. Same-brand panels are the easiest route.

Is a solar generator worth it for power outages?

For short outages with small loads, yes: it's quiet, safe indoors and needs no fuel. For multi-day outages, big loads or cloudy weather, pair it with a generator or plan on a much bigger battery.

What to look for

  • A max solar input at least as big as the panels you plan to buy
  • A solar voltage range that fits the panels (same-brand panels are the easy route)
  • Enough battery Wh for one day and one night of your loads
  • LiFePO4 (LFP) battery chemistry, rated for thousands of cycles
  • Panels you can carry and set up, angled at the sun

Models to consider

BLUETTI Elite 100 V2

Power station (battery)

Capacity:
1,024 Wh
Inverter:
1,800 W (surge 2,700 W)
Fuel:
None — battery
Battery:
LiFePO4
Noise:
30 dB (under 600 W load; distance not stated)
CARB (California):
Not needed (no engine)

EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max Plus

Power station (battery)

Capacity:
2,048 Wh
Inverter:
3,000 W (surge 6,000 W)
Fuel:
None — battery
Battery:
LFP (LiFePO4)
Noise:
25 dB (25 dB or less at 600 W load; distance not stated)
CARB (California):
Not needed (no engine)

Jackery Explorer 1000 v2

Power station (battery)

Capacity:
1,070 Wh
Inverter:
1,500 W (surge 3,000 W)
Fuel:
None — battery
Battery:
LiFePO4
CARB (California):
Not needed (no engine)

We don't test units ourselves; figures come from manufacturer spec sheets and the sources linked. How we research.

Sources

Related guides